The FRUIT of the Spirit

The last couple of weeks at B.S.F (Bible Study Fellowship), we have been learning about the Holy Spirit, our Advocate and Helper. This is not an entirely new topic but always a great reminder of the working of the Holy Spirit in our lives.

Further in the lessons, in John 15:5 the Bible says, ‘I am the vine, you are the branches. Of you remain (abide) in Me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from Me you can do nothing’

Then I realised, it’s fruit. Not fruits! But alas.

He goes further in John 15:16 (NIV) to say ‘You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in My name the Father will give you’

If we abide in Christ, we bear fruit that lasts not fruits that last. So this insight led to the other famous passage on the fruit of the Spirit in Galatians.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, long suffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law. Galatians 5:22‭-‬23 NKJV

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22‭-‬23 NIV

Joy of the Lord 

Then Holy Spirit made it clear to me.

  1. I cannot live out all the other parts of the fruit and walk in anxiety,
  2. Neither can I be at peace when I am not walking in love,
  3. I cannot claim to be faithful when I have no self control,
  4. I cannot be kind when I have no iota of joy in my life,
  5. I cannot be long suffering (forebearing) yet I’m not gentle, etc

What a revelation!  The thing I this, the fruit of the Spirit is package. You can not select one aspect  and leave out another. You have to live out the whole fruit.

It is absolutely not easy for me and perhaps not easy for others either,  but the Lord said whatever we ask in His name, the Father will do it.

One great realization that I got upon studying these passages is that when we walk in love, then it is possible to bear fruit that lasts.

I am challenged to walk purposefully in ways that bring glory to the Father by how I put this FRUIT to play in my day to day life while I still live in my temporary tent.

I ask the Holy Spirit to help me live out this fruit. 

So help me Lord.

5 thoughts on “The FRUIT of the Spirit

  1. Love, joy, peace, long-suffering, gentleness, kindness, faith, meekness and temperance are the fruit of the Spirit. They are the products of His presence and work in my life. To produce them myself is an order I cannot fill. I cooperate with Him by making space for Him to produce these things in me. The harder I have tried to do these things in my own power the more of a failure I have become.

    Like

  2. There is nothing like living in one aspect and excluding the other aspect of the FRUIT! I must be Loving, Patient, Kind, Good, Gentle, Faithful and Self-controlled! They work together! Wow such a great revelation.

    Like

    1. Exactly. And please note that there is some kind of progression and build up. As you live out love, you become patient, then as you become patient, you get to be kind, once Kind you become food to others, when you are good, you are gentle etc etc…. Let’s live it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

