A lesson from a mango!

A bitter mango brought about this article! How now?

Several weeks ago, I developed a craving for mangoes. But something told me that since it is not mango season, they may be expensive if if find one that is. I put some effort into finding one. I did find some at the market. I gladly bought and hurried home to partake of this delicacy.

What I experienced upon chopping it up was a bitter mango. Forget the cost! How my expectations were dashed. Immediately, I heard very clear in my spirit that, when you try to do something when it’s season is not ready, be prepared for a bitter end! Or worse, expensive costly affair!

Now that was not something I was expecting to hear at that point but it was very profound. Many times I have rushed God to do something, and when He doesn’t do it, I quickly rush to do it my way. All the time the results are disastrous.

See what Scripture says about timing….

Eccl 3:11 – He has made everything appropriate in its time. He has also set eternity in their heart, yet so that man will not find out the work which God has done from the beginning even to the end.

Psalms 40:1 – I waited patiently for the Lord; and He inclined unto me, and heard my cry.

Isaiah 40:31 – They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint

2 Peter 3:9 – The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some men count slackness; but is long-suffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

That mango was used to remind me that inasmuch as I want certain things, I have to wait until the time is perfect. I have to wait for February and March for perfect mangoes.

Habakkuk 2:3 says “For still the vision awaits its appointed time; it hastens to the end—it will not lie. If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay.”

God does not lie, He will do it. It just won’t be my idea of ‘perfect’ timing, but His time.

So I encourage you as I encourage myself with Psalmist’s word….

Psalm 27:14 “Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!”

Leave a Reply

